Beer Reviews 11-18-12

Here are my reviews for this week:

1554, black ale

New Belgium Brewing, Ft. Collins, CO

ABV: 5.6%

Bitterness/IBU: 21 low-medium

Sips (out of 5): 3

This beer, which is available year round, had a nice hoppy taste that wasn’t overdone. Don’t let the dark color fool you, it was surprisingly light too. Overall a decent beer, that I would drink again.

Little Sumpin Wild Ale

Lagunitas Brewing Co, Petaluma, CA

ABV: 8.8%

Bitterness/IBU: 72.5 high

Sips: 3

This is just your run of the mill standard ale. I didn’t feel like there was anything special about this beer. That’s not to say that it was a decent hop flavored beer. But I expected more from it, not quite sure why, maybe because of the label. But give it a try and tell me your thoughts.

Amber Ale

Mission Brewery, San Diego, CA

ABV: 5%

Bitterness: medium

Sips: 2.5

This amber ale had a little bit of a kick to it. Other than that I didn’t like it very much. It just wasn’t that good of a beer. It doesn’t have any tasting notes to speak of, it’s a pretty plain beer, once you get past the little kick.

Apricot Ale, fruit flavored wheat ale

Pyramid Brewing Co, Seattle, WA

ABV: 5.1%

Bitterness/IBU: 11 low

Sips: 3.5

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked this beer. It had a very good fruit flavor to it that wasn’t too over powering or too strong. I liked this beer a lot and would definitely recommend trying it, I know I will again. It is available year round.

Follow me on Twitter @AngrySpanky.

Leave a Reply

