Beer Reviews 11-25-12

Here are my reviews for this week:

Decadent, Imperial IPA

Ska Brewing Co. Durango, CO

ABV: 10%

Bitterness: medium

Sips (out of 5): 3

This imperial IPA is not quite what I expected it to be. It was a lot lighter and smoother than most IPAs are. It has a nice hoppy taste but enough for what I am used to from an imperial IPA. I will say that because it is light tasting, the alcohol content definitely sneaks up on you so be careful when drinking this beer. This is a limited release beer so if you want to try it, you might  have to search a bit for it.

Northern Hemisphere Harvest, Wet Hop Ale

Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. Chico, CA

ABV: 6.7%

Bitterness: medium

Sips: 3.5

Apparently this beer is made from hops that aren’t dried before the brewing process. If that makes a difference I don’t know. To me good, not great, IPA. It is good tasting, but Sierra Nevada has plenty of other selections that are better. This is a limited release beer.

Jahva, Imperial Coffee Stout

Southern Tier Brewing Co. Lakewood, NY

ABV: 10.6%

Bitterness: medium

Sips: 4

As loyal readers of my beer reviews you know I am a big fan of Southern Tier Brewing, especially their Blackwater Series. Well Jahva is the March release in that series, and like all the others in that series this one doesn’t disappoint. This is the best coffee stout that I have had, it is actually better than coffee ice cream or even coffee itself. It starts out tasting smokey like most imperial stouts, but finishes up with a sweet taste that leaves you wanting more. When March comes around try it, you will not be disappointed.

Malheur, Belgian Golden Ale

Brewery de Landtsheer, Buggenhout, Belgium

ABV: 10%

Bitterness: low-medium

Sips: 3

This is a beer that I stumbled upon not knowing a single thing about it, so I tried it with an open mind. I will say that it is a pretty typical Belgian ale, it is strong and it tastes that way too. There is not much information I can find about this beer or brewery, except to say it is rare to come across any beer by this brewery so if you do give one a shot and let me know what you think of them.

Follow me on Twitter @AngrySpanky.

Leave a Reply

